Provisional cast-on in medias res

Video tutorial

Hello, knitting friend.

The other day I was asked about doing a provisional cast-on in the middle of a row, something I tell you to do in the Vesey Street Vest (Payhip) pattern for the pockets. I also like to use this technique when working a sweater top-down for the underarms, rather than binding off and then picking up stitches when working the sleeves. I find that area kind of tight in those circumstances and much prefer the smooth look and feel of live stitches, rather than picking up from a cast-off area. It gives the same finish as Kitchener stitch for bottom-up sweaters

So, I made you a little video. All you need is some smooth waste yarn and the ability to do a long-tail cast-on (a.k.a. the slingshot method). By anchoring the waste yarn with your right thumb, then holding the working end of the waste yarn over your left thumb and the working yarn over your left forefinger, you can work the long-tail cast-on in the middle of a row/round for as many stitches as you need. Then when it’s time to work those provisionally cast-on stitches later, just pick the waste yarn out of each stitch and pop the live stitch onto your needle.

I suppose you could also do the afterthought heel thing of knitting the stitches (instead of binding off), then slipping the needle back through said stitches and knitting them again with waste yarn. When it’s time to deal with those stitches, you pick out the waste yarn and put the upper and lower stitches onto needles, then do whatever needs doing. In the case of the Vesey Street Vest, you would bind off the top of the pocket and then work the lining.

I guess you have two options now! Ha. For whatever reason I prefer the provisional cast-on as shown in the video, but you are the boss of your knitting, so choose the technique that’s right for you. And if you can think of another way to do it, let me know in the comments.

Happy knitting,

xxoo, Kathleen

P.S. Use the code substack in my Ravelry and Payhip shops for 25% off my patterns.

Kathleen’s Payhip Shop

Kathleen’s Ravelry Shop

0 Comments
The Knit
The Knit
Authors
Kathleen Dames